Most people are so used to remote controls. Seems like in my house there is a remote for everything, the TV, the Stereo, the lights. So it is only natural that the sport that my family enjoys also entails a remote. I am talking about Radio Controlled Cars,

You know, the little replica racers that on most weekends you can hear screaming around the vacant parking lot at the school or the dirt track out in back of the old mall. The little motorized mayhem makers that are sometimes do realistic it can be unnerving.

These things are great little hobby’s for everyone o any age. You can get the whole family together for a race or you can do it solo and go burn up the asphalt alone. You can do as we did and join a Model RC Car club and get together for shows and race competitions or just to admire things that are new and have some fun and laughs with some folks with similar interests.

This small sport can get into your veins as deeply as the NASCAR folks who travel the country following the races. The main difference here is that when the weekend is over, the entire family had fun and we still have enough money left for a great family dinner out.

I honestly know some people, my wife’s sister. Her husband is so into NASCAR that everything he owns is oriented to that sport; he just took a weekend vacation to enjoy the Richard Petty Driving Experience in Orlando. The entire weekend cost him just over $2,500 for just him. That same weekend we shared a family RC day out, with a nice movie and dinner after words and still came out like $2,350 ahead. Heck even if we had all gone out and bought new cars and gear we still could have gotten by at least a couple thousand less than he did. He has some memories, a credit card bill and a piece of paper saying he drove at 125 MPH and we just had fun.

You can see where I am going with this story; some people can tend to go off the deep end no matter what they are doing. We are no exception to the rule. I just tend to think that life is short and I prefer to enjoy my time here on earth doing things I love with the people I love. I am just happy that the people in my life that are dearest to me happen to enjoy running Radio Controlled Cars as much as I do.

All you really need to get started is the car, some fuel, batteries and a controller and I would suggest a carry case to store it all in. From there the sky is the limit. You can customize to your hearts desire. You can paint and pin stripe the body or make special design modifications so your weekend hobby can also be something you enjoy on the weeknights you are bored as well.

nitro radio controlled cars

nitro radio controlled cars

Nitro Radio Controlled Cars